GUIDE

Choosing a home arcade machine

The best home arcade machine is the one that plays the games you want, fits your room and seats your players: start from the games, measure the space, count players, check the licensing label, then pick mass-market, premium or DIY within your budget.

The best home arcade machine is the one that plays the games you care about, fits the space you have and seats the number of people who will play. Decide those three things first, then let licensing and budget narrow the list.

This guide walks through each decision using the 123 machines, kits and plans we track, from $129.99 countertop machines to $3,999 licensed uprights and a few specialty cabinets above that. Maker store prices were re-read October 1, 2026; dealer prices are from September 30, 2026. It is a decision guide, not a ranking. We do not own these machines and have not used them. Every fact comes from a maker's or retailer's page, with its source and check date on the machine's profile.

Start with the games you want

People search by game, not by "best," and so should you. The game decides more than anything else, because licensed machines are built around one title or publisher.

  • One classic title. If you want Pac-Man, Ms. Pac-Man or Galaga specifically, compare every model that carries it: Pac-Man arcade machines, Ms. Pac-Man, Galaga and Dig Dug. Options run from a $149.99 Countercade to Bandai Namco's $3,999 Pixel Bash upright. Every game with its own page is listed under arcade games.
  • One publisher's catalog. Arcade1Up machines bundle 3 to 14 games around a title or publisher, such as SEGA, Capcom or Bandai Namco. See the Arcade1Up page.
  • Hundreds or thousands of games. Multi-game cabinets in our catalog list 150 to 17,000 games. Read the licensing label on these closely (see below).
  • Your own games. DIY kits and some cabinets ship without games, for you to set up yourself.

How much room you have

Height is similar across full-size machines. Width and depth decide whether one fits. From the stated dimensions in our listings:

Cabinet typeTypical heightFootprintWhere it suits
Countertop (Countercade)about 7 to 17 inunder 10 x 10 in, or about 16 x 19.5 in for the flat Counter Seriesa shelf, desk or kitchen counter
Bartop15 to 23.5 inup to about 19 x 16 ina table or bar; bigger with a 32-inch screen
Mass-market upright (Arcade1Up, AtGames)60 to 67 inabout 19 to 30 in each sidea corner of a living room or bedroom
Full-size upright68 to 79 in19 to 55 in wide, 23 to 44 in deepa game room or basement
Cocktail table28 to 42 in31 to 44 in acrossa room where people sit around it

Weight matters too. Stated weights run from 6.3 lb for a Countercade to 454 lb for a large premium upright. Full tables, real examples and a measuring checklist are in arcade machine dimensions.

How many players

Of the 123 listings, 41 state 2 players, 18 state 4 players, 29 state 1 player, and 35 do not say.

  • One or two players covers almost every machine under $1,000 that states a number.
  • Four players means a wider control panel and a higher price. The cheapest full-size 4-player machine we list is The Arcade Guys Basic Arcade at $895, sold out as of October 1, 2026. Next is the Rec Room Masters Upright Xtension 4 Player at $1,195, with no screen included. Most of the rest are $2,299 to $3,699; see 4-player arcade machines. Where width is stated, 4-player uprights run 30.5 to 55 inches wide, and most are over 36 inches.
  • Not stated is common on Arcade1Up pages. If head-to-head play matters, ask the seller.

Licensed or multi-game: read the label

Every machine with games carries one of five licensing labels, based only on what the seller states. Across our 123 listings:

LabelListingsWhat it means
Licensed, licensor named32The page names who licensed the games, such as Bandai Namco, SEGA, Capcom or Taito
Official titles named, licensor not stated20The page names official game titles but not the licensor
Licensed, per the maker4The maker says the games are licensed but does not name the licensor
Game licensing not stated32The page lists games or a game count with no licensing statement
Bring your own games34No games included; you supply them

One more, Arcade1Up's Claw Machine, is labeled "No video games".

The labels split by kind of machine. All 39 mass-market video game machines name either the licensor or official titles. Of the 53 premium machines, 32 do not state game licensing, while half of the 12 that name a licensor are Bandai Namco's Pixel Bash cabinets. A large game count on its own tells you nothing about licensing. See how we label game licensing.

Mass market, premium or DIY

Mass marketPremium and customDIY
Listings405330 (7 complete kits, 10 plans, 13 controls)
U.S. price range$129.99 to $899.99$199.99 to $9,895, mostly $1,000 to $4,000free to $880
Typical screen7 to 24 in8 to 55 in, mostly 19 in and upbuyer-supplied
Typical licensingLicensor or titles namedMostly not statedBring your own games
AvailabilityOften sold out, frequent new releasesMany made to order, lead times of days to 12 weeksMostly in stock or digital download

Mass market in our catalog means Arcade1Up, AtGames and Numskull. These are the cheapest full-height machines, sold through big retailers. Arcade1Up changed hands in December 2025 and now carries a 90-day warranty (180 days if registered); read is Arcade1Up discontinued before you buy.

Premium and custom machines come from makers like Creative Arcades, Dream Arcades, Phantom Arcades, Polycade, Quality Arcades, The Arcade Guys, Rec Room Masters and Bandai Namco. Expect bigger screens, heavier cabinets and, apart from Pixel Bash, little stated licensing.

DIY costs less in parts, but none of the complete kits we list include a screen, and they all leave games to you. Whether it saves money is covered in build or buy an arcade machine. Start at the DIY hub, or compare cabinet kits, plans and controls.

Questions to ask a seller

Most of what buyers want to know is missing from product pages. Before you pay, ask:

  1. Which games are included, and who licensed them? If the page gives only a game count, ask for the list and the licensor.
  2. How many players, and can they play at the same time?
  3. What is included? Screen, computer, stool, riser, 4-player module. Several machines we list ship without a screen.
  4. Is this a list, sale or "starting at" price? What do the options add?
  5. What are the exact dimensions and weight, assembled and in the box?
  6. How is it delivered? Flat-packed, assembled, curbside or room of choice.
  7. What is the lead time? Made-to-order cabinets in our listings quote from a few business days to 10 to 12 weeks.
  8. What does the warranty cover, for how long, and who handles parts?

Shortlist by budget

Ready-built machines in U.S. dollars, Arcade1Up prices as of October 1, 2026:

  • Under $200: Arcade1Up Countercades and Counter Series, 7 to 8 inch screens, 3 to 5 games, or a 12-inch Golden Tee replica. See cheap arcade machines.
  • $200 to $500: Arcade1Up's 8-inch Pac-Man Jr at $299.99, or five Arcade1Up Deluxe cabinets at $499.99, 5 feet tall, 17-inch screens. Or a complete bartop kit from $223.99 if you build.
  • $500 to $1,000: Arcade1Up Ultra and more Deluxe cabinets ($549.99 to $689.99, 17-inch screens), the Supreme Series ($599.99 to $699.99, 19-inch screens), AtGames Legends Ultimate and Iconic Arcade Street Fighter II ($899.99, 24-inch screens).
  • $1,000 to $2,000: entry custom uprights, pedestals, bartops and a pub-height cocktail table, mostly "Game licensing not stated."
  • $2,000 to $4,000: large-screen custom and 4-player cabinets, and Bandai Namco's licensed Pixel Bash machines at $3,099 to $3,999.
  • Over $4,000: Golden Tee, Big Buck Hunter and virtual pinball cabinets, $4,299 to $9,895.

The full price distribution is in how much an arcade machine costs. To see everything side by side, browse all home arcade machines, or answer a few questions and let the finder narrow it down.

Find your machine: budget, space and games

Sources

  • Arcade1Up warranty information, checked September 30, 2026: https://arcade1up.com/pages/warranty-information
  • The Toy Book, "Breaking News: Basic Fun! Acquires Select Assets of Arcade1Up," December 16, 2025: https://toybook.com/basic-fun-acquires-select-assets-of-arcade1up/
  • Makers' and retailers' product pages for every machine cited, linked from each machine's profile with the date we read it

Written from the listing data and the sources linked on each listing. We have not tested these products in person. How we check listings.