No, Arcade1Up is not discontinued. The original company told staff it was closing in December 2025, Basic Fun acquired "select assets" of the brand days later, and new Arcade1Up cabinets are listed on arcade1up.com for fall 2026.
What changed is who stands behind the name. Below are the dated facts, what you can buy right now, and what the current warranty page says. Prices last checked October 1, 2026; warranty page checked September 30, 2026.
What happened, with dates
| Date | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| December 12, 2025 | Reports said Arcade1Up was shutting down. An internal email quoted by EventHubs read: "Arcade1Up is closing operations. For the majority of us, our last day is this coming Friday." There was no public statement at the time. | EventHubs, Dec 12, 2025 |
| December 16, 2025 | Basic Fun said it "has acquired select assets of Arcade1Up and intends to support, to the best of our ability, the Home Arcade category and existing Arcade1Up products currently in the market." It said more details would come in 2026. | The Toy Book, Dec 16, 2025; Time Extension, Dec 16, 2025 |
| February 14, 2026 | Basic Fun announced a home arcade collection under the Arcade1Up brand, naming Pac-Man and Ms. Pac-Man machines and a Sonic Supreme Series cabinet, due "this fall at major retailers." | Arcade1Up blog, Feb 14, 2026 |
| February 2026 | Basic Fun and Arcade1Up showed a new Sonic the Hedgehog cabinet at Toy Fair 2026 in New York. | SEGAbits, Feb 18, 2026 |
Some background from the same reports: Arcade1Up was set up in 2018 as a subsidiary of Tastemakers and made licensed, roughly 3/4-size cabinets with games from Atari, Bandai Namco, Capcom and Sega (Time Extension). Time Extension also reported that Arcade1Up's SVP of licensing had moved to Basic Fun about three months before the deal.
Two things the sources do not say: which assets Basic Fun did not buy, and what happened to the original company after the sale. We say "not stated" rather than guess.
Did Basic Fun buy Arcade1Up?
Basic Fun bought "select assets" of the brand, in its own words. Its February announcement describes the deal as "its 2025 acquisition of select assets of the Arcade1Up brand." The warranty page on arcade1up.com now names Basic Fun as the company offering the warranty.
Can you still buy Arcade1Up machines?
Yes, though stock comes and goes. We track 25 Arcade1Up machines. On the maker's own store as of October 1, 2026:
- Available to buy: 19, including all three 7-inch Countercades, all four 8-inch Counter Series games at a $184.99 sale price, the Pac-Man Deluxe ($499.99), the Mortal Kombat II Deluxe ($499.99), the Golden Tee 3D Deluxe ($689.99) and the Sonic the Hedgehog Supreme Series ($599.99), which the page says is also in stores at Costco.
- Coming soon: 5. Pac-Man Supreme Series ($649.99) and Street Fighter II Supreme Series ($649.99), both "coming early October 2026" with in-store stock at Sam's Club; OutRun Supreme Series ($629.99); Ms. Pac-Man Deluxe ($549.99, fall 2026); and Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 Supreme Series ($699.99, late 2026).
- Sold out on the maker's store: 1, the OutRun Deluxe Series ($499.99 sale).
Stock moved fast around our checks. Several machines that showed sold out on September 30 were available again on October 1, and four prices rose between the two days: the Ms. Pac-Man Deluxe, Atari Star Wars Ultra and WWE WrestleFest Ultra by $50 each to $549.99, and the OutRun Supreme from $599 to $629.99. Six older models, including the Galaga Deluxe and the NBA Jam Deluxe, are marked discontinued or sold out online on their maker pages, so we do not list them.
See every model side by side on the Arcade1Up maker page.
Where they are sold
The maker pages we checked name Costco, Sam's Club, Amazon, Walmart and Target as store partners for specific models. Which store carries which machine changes by model, so check the product page before you drive anywhere.
What about warranty and parts for older cabinets?
Here is what Arcade1Up's warranty page says, checked September 30, 2026:
- "Basic Fun offers a standard 90-day warranty from the date of purchase for Arcade Classics products that are part of the Supreme, Ultra, and Counter series."
- Registering the product adds a free 90 days, for 180 days in total.
- It covers unmodified units bought from authorized retailers, for the original buyer only.
- It excludes cosmetic wear, self-repair, tampering, modifications and misuse. "Wood is not covered."
- Basic Fun's support team handles "troubleshooting, replacement parts, or missing components" through a support ticket.
What the page does not say:
- Machines bought before the takeover. The page does not address cabinets bought from the original company. Not stated.
- Deluxe, Legacy and Countercade lines. The page names the Supreme, Ultra and Counter series only. Whether other lines are covered is not stated.
- Online features. Basic Fun has not published anything we could find on servers or firmware for older cabinets. One partial answer comes from Code Mystics, which wrote the software for several Arcade1Up cabinets. EventHubs quoted it as saying: "We built a fallback mode into our Gemini online code from the start that will allow online multiplayer without a server." EventHubs lists NBA Jam, Killer Instinct, Mortal Kombat, X-Men and NFL Blitz cabinets as using that code (EventHubs, Dec 12, 2025).
If you own an older cabinet with a problem, open a ticket with Basic Fun through arcade1up.com and ask directly. That is the only support channel the brand currently lists.
Is it still a good time to buy?
That depends on what you want, and the price data helps more than the headlines do.
- Prices on the maker's store mostly held. Our 25 Arcade1Up listings run from $129.99 (NBA Jam Countercade) to $699.99 (Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 Supreme Series) as of October 1, 2026, though four list prices rose by $30.99 to $50 overnight.
- New cabinets are Supreme Series machines at $599.99 to $699.99, with 19-inch screens per the maker pages. The Deluxe and Ultra cabinets in our listings are $499.99 to $689.99 with 17-inch screens.
- Licensing still reads clearly. Of the 25, 11 carry "Licensed, licensor named" (Bandai Namco, SEGA, Capcom, Atari, Midway or WWE on the page), 13 carry "Official titles named, licensor not stated", and the Claw Machine carries "No video games". See how we label game licensing.
- The warranty is short. At 90 days, or 180 registered, it is worth registering on day one.
If a specific sold-out machine is the one you want, watch the retailers named on its page. If you just want a full-height cabinet now, compare the in-stock models on the Arcade1Up page against other makers in how much an arcade machine costs. The small ones are on the Countercade page, and every Pac-Man option is on the Pac-Man arcade machines page.
We will re-check this page monthly and update the "last checked" date.
Find your machine: budget, space and games
Sources
- EventHubs, "Arcade1Up reportedly shutting down today," December 12, 2025: https://www.eventhubs.com/news/2025/dec/12/arcade1up-shutting-down/
- The Toy Book, "Breaking News: Basic Fun! Acquires Select Assets of Arcade1Up," December 16, 2025: https://toybook.com/basic-fun-acquires-select-assets-of-arcade1up/
- Time Extension, "Basic Fun Has Acquired 'Select Assets' Of Arcade1Up," December 16, 2025: https://www.timeextension.com/news/2025/12/basic-fun-has-acquired-select-assets-of-arcade1up
- Arcade1Up (Basic Fun), "Basic Fun! Unveils Category-Defining Home Arcade Collection," February 14, 2026: https://arcade1up.com/blogs/buzz/basic-fun-unveils-category-defining-home-arcade-collection
- SEGAbits, Toy Fair 2026 Sonic cabinet report, February 18, 2026: https://segabits.com/blog/2026/02/18/basic-fun-arcade1up-show-off-a-brand-new-sonic-the-hedgehog-home-arcade-cabinet-at-toy-fair-2026/
- Arcade1Up warranty information, checked September 30, 2026: https://arcade1up.com/pages/warranty-information
- Arcade1Up product pages, prices and stock read October 1, 2026 (linked inline and on each machine's profile)